Awesome trip to OZ

Well, I can’t believe 2 weeks can go by so quickly, the friends and family tour of Australia was amazing, it was so good to be back on home soil, catch up with everyone, and swim at the beaches again.

Sat April 12th – Arrived in Sydney, gorgeous blue sky, sun sparkling on the water day. Flight was great, slept most of the way, love the direct flight, only 14 hours now, instead of close to 20! Mum and Dad picked me up, then went straight to Bronte beach and had a swim, it was great seeing Betsy and Grace again, had a nice lunch at a local cafe, they are always gorgeous! In the afternoon we dropped into our friends Margie and Steve, with their mum Varnie, and kids Natalie, Simon, Dominic and Jeremy. Then the evening was complete with Dad and I enjoying a spa back at Micabil.

Sunday April 13th – Day on the harbour on flying circus, Dad’s 28 ft Cavalier, with some friends from Montana/Pernod Ricard, Katherine, Chrissie, Kate and Matt. Of course we had to have a feast on the boat, 2kg of prawns, BBQ Chicken, salads, cheesecake and some gorgeous Montana wines! Unfortunately this was the start of the longest consecutive days of rain Sydney had seen in 80 years! Just my luck, I go to Australia for my sun fix, and get 2 days of sun.

Karen and Katherine sailing on Sydney Harbour

Celebrating Katherine’s Birthday with cheesecake!

Monday April 14th – went for a day trip up to the Hunter Valley, with my parents and Aunty Helen. Tempus Two was amazing, De Bortoli was nothing to write home about. Lunch at Crown Hotel was nice.

Mum and I at Tempus Two
A lot of grapes left on the vine in the Hunter

Tuesday April 15th – rest day, hang out in Arcadia, caught up with Uncle Warwick. Also had to sort out my NSW drivers license suspension. As I wasn’t here last year I didn’t vote, and as it’s compulsory to vote, I received a fine, which I wrote them a letter to explain I was overseas, but obviously they hadn’t processed it. As I didn’t pay the fine, they suspended my drivers license – how rude! Sorted it out though, all good to go.

Wed April 16th – went to the northern beaches, met Barney for breakky at Mona Vale Cafe 5, on Darley St, opposite the beach, where we used to have our apartment. It was so nice seeing Barney and his mum, and being in the hood again. Unfortunately it was still raining, so no swimming today, instead I visited my old beautician, Kerry, and had a mani pedi, after all, I am on holidays.

Breakky with Barney

Then Mum and I went to my best friends from High School, Nerina and Linda. Nerina is now married with 2 kids (Grace and Catriona) and one on the way, at Kellyville. Linda is Nan’s twin, and she has two little ones too (Elyssa and Edward).

Catriona (2), Nan, Grace (4)

Thursday April 17th – Mum and I went shopping, then I had lunch with some old work friends from Pernod Ricard, Sarah and Sharon, then picked up my wine order from Anne-Marie, a really good friend from Montana days,

Friday April 18th – visited Anne-Marie again, and some of the crew at the office, then went and saw my old boss Rob, who now works for Oatley Wines. He has an amazing view of the city from his office, and has a dream job, going out to the wineries on the private jet!
View from Rob’s Office

In the afternoon I caught up with my dear old friend Julie at Mosman. We had fun, just like old times, had an antipasto feast with some gorgeous Montrose Black Shiraz from Mudgee.

Sat April 19th – D-Day. Julie and Keith’s wedding at the Botanic Gardens, on the harbour.

The wedding – nice backdrop!
Tash, Kristen, Dad, Mum and Karen

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

